Leadership Profile: Sharon Morell

Sharon Morell joins the CSP board with important credentials – a knack for numbers, a love of volunteering and tap dancing skills! Read on to learn more about Sharon and her co-chair objectives for the 2010-2011 RJHC Membership Campaign.

Tell us about your personal background.
I was born in Portland, attended Woodrow Wilson High School, graduated from the University of Oregon, and received my Masters in Business Administration (MBA) from University of California, Berkeley. My husband, Dean, and I have a 19 year old son, Blake, who is a sophomore at Claremont McKenna College in Southern California. My parents, Jerry and Shirley Nudelman, live in Portland as well as my older sister and younger brother and their families.

What about your professional life?
Prior to graduate school, I worked as a financial analyst for Intel Corporation. After receiving my degree, I became a fixed income securities trader for US Bank. I then worked for Morley Capital Management, a leading pension manager in the Stable Value industry. I retired, to raise my son, after reaching the position of Senior Vice President, Director of Investment Services for the firm. For the past 18 months, I have consulted for the firm on a part time basis.

Do you do any other community work and/or volunteering?
I am a member of the Executive Committee of the Board of Directors at Congregation Temple Beth Israel and currently serve as the Board’s secretary. I am a board member of the Oregon Jewish Community Foundation and sit on the investment, strategic plan and policy review committees. I volunteer, when possible, for Schoolhouse Supplies.

How did you get involved with the CSP board?
I first learned more about CSP when I accompanied my son during an interview with David Fuks. As a member of the Oregon Jewish Community Youth Foundation, he was charged with learning more about the organization, its leadership, mission and needs. Shortly thereafter, I was asked to join the Board and enthusiastically said yes.

What do you hope to achieve as a board member?
As the newly named co-chair of Membership, I hope to expose more members of the community to CSP. I hope to gain a deeper understanding of the many and diverse services offered on this beautiful campus.

What are you passionate about in terms of your work at CSP?
I want to make sure that my generation is involved with, and committed to CSP so that we may carry on the philanthropic tradition set by our parents. At the same time, I want to make our children aware of the importance of the 5th Commandment so that they, too, will honor their parents and the community.

What are your goals for 2010-2011RJHC Membership Campaign?
I hope to increase the number of first time donors and to better define what it means to be a member of RJHC.

What do you think the future holds for CSP?
I believe CSP will explore and discover enhanced ways of reaching elders in our community and satisfying their healthcare needs. I believe there will be continued coordination with other agencies that maximize service to an ever increasing population. And, I believe there will be additional parking available on site too!

What do you enjoy most about being on the board?
I enjoy the relationships I have established with new colleagues and the additional time I now spend with dear friends who share my passion for CSP. I enjoy working with the highly skilled staff who continues to amaze me with their professionalism and their compassion for every aspect of CSP.

What’s something interesting about yourself that others may not know?
I tap dance in a performing group with talented young women ranging in age from 16 to 51.

Hobbies? Favorite place to travel to?
I enjoy tap dancing, gyrotonics and pilates, and attempt to golf. I love to relax in sunny locations including Maui and Scottsdale, Arizona. I started doing the daily and New York Times crossword puzzle several years ago and can successfully complete each day’s puzzle, except for the Sunday version of the Times. Perhaps someday…

Leave a comment